Posted by: heddam | 12 January 2010

7 months

It’s a good thing Baby Center sends me weekly emails. I might have missed that today Slurpee is actually 7 months. I know it’s so cliche to say, but time is really flying by.

For Pete's sake Mom!!

 I’m a little behind with my updates (and yes, that would be an understatement) so you can see that now she can sit up. Well, kind of sit up. She wobbles and sometimes falls over. She hasn’t quite grasped the whole sitting up thing yet.

She can roll from from to back and back to front, but hasn’t figured out that you can use that as a mode of transportation. Thank God!

She is absolutely enamoured with her brother. Whenever he is playing she watches him run back and forth. Just this past weekend I had to make him leave the kitchen so that she would pay attention to me while I tried to feed her. He wasn’t acting up, just being 5 and she wouldn’t stop watching him.

I heard her first belly laughs this weekend.

She has giggled a lot, but this is the first time I have heard big belly laughs. It warmed my heart to hear it. We have been stuck in the house for pretty much the whole weekend after school was canceled Friday because of a “snow” storm we got and the temperatures have not gotten above freezing until today. It was nice to have something to entertain us for a few minutes.

Slurpee’s six month well check had to be put off for a few weeks because she had an ear infection and the doctor won’t see them if they are just a little sick. She went this past Thursday for that check. She weighed 14 pounds and 14 ounces. She was 25 and 3/4 inches long and had a 17 inch head. She’s still pretty small for her age, even considering that she was premature.

She has started eating fruits and veggies and seems to like everything except green beans. She still spits those back out at me. She will eat them, but I know she prefers not to. She hasn’t started holding her bottles yet. I’m looking forward to that day so that we can start working her toward a sippy cup. She wants to drink everything that we have so I don’t think that will be a hard transition.

She has started moving backward. It is kind of an inchworm thing. You can put her in one spot and when you come back she has moved backward a ways. You have to keep an eye on her now or she’ll end up under something and you won’t be able to find her.

She has also figured out that she can use her hands to pick up stuff. She constantly moves her fingers in a pinching motion kind of like a crab. She wants to grap everything and hold it and of course, put it in her mouth.

She is my social butterfly. She smiles at everyone. She’s not afraid of anyone. Anyone can take her and walk away and she doesn’t get upset at all. The only time she gets mad is if she’s left in a room alone. She always has to be where the action is. This is the child I’m going to be hunting down in the mall in a few years. Lord, please be with me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

